A Valentines day in Paris

Please don’t stop reading if you think this is going to be some soppy write up of a romantic trip to Paris because its not. Yes I was in Paris on valentines day but alas there for work.

The second week of February sees Paris hold the biggest fabric and trim trade fair in Europe, Premiere Vision Pluriel. Made up of various different shows such as Le Cuir Paris for leather,ModAmont for trims and Premiere Vision for fabrics it is a showcase for the next season. I went to begin sourcing for our spring summer 13 collection and saw over 40 mills. Each mill will bring their newest developments and they come from far and wide, France, Italy, Turkey and Korea to name a few. It’s my job, along with a colleague and some input from the design team, to begin to source for this new collection. Seeing the mills collections and making a selection of fabric headers to be sent to us at a later date for consideration. I saw some really interesting developments in jacquard jerseys which I’m keen to develop as well as lots of gorgeous Italian silk and French lace.

I was ready for my bed on valentines night though because after getting up at 5am for the eurostar and only checking in at 830pm I was knackered. Luckily we were in a really comfy hotel, Hotel Amour. An unfortunate name for a hotel alone on valentines night though! Hotel was lovely if a little arty. A bit like stepping into David Lynch’s mind. My room was graffitied floor and ceiling and although it looks a little macabre in the photos it was very cosy in real life. Bathroom was stocked with gorgeous Kiels products which might have come home with me….. And after a well needed boiling hot shower I snuggles into my bed with loads of soft pillows. I have a slight cushion obsession so this was bliss.

image

image

Hotel Amour is definitely a hotel I would recommend. Ten minutes walk from Gare du Nord and only slightly longer to the Sacre Couer its something a little bit different in the heart of Paris

Leave a comment